h1

Its A Summer Anthem

July 19, 2010

Summertime Cover Art

What’s going on my fellow music connoisseurs (makes you guys seem all sophisticated and whatnot–its because I care =).

This mixtape has been stuck on my itunes for awhile, in fact I’m playing it right now.  Brought to you by two very famous DJs, DJ Jazzy Jeff & Mick Boogie (I told you they were kind of a big deal), is Summertime The Mixtape.

Remixing 49 different types of classic summer jams, this collection puts your JayZs, your LL Cool Js, and your Biggies all in one and from there you don’t really have a choice: you’re gonna love it.  If you don’t it’s no big deal, you were probably born without a soul or something.

All I have to say is give it a playthru front to back and try to tell me you don’t feel relaxed or [insert good feeling]

Summertime — The Mixtape

The Roots

Next on the agenda: The Roots’ most recent album How I Got Over

Now in my defense, I never followed The Roots (and I’ll be turning in my grave for that mistake) so I have no real comparison to their previous work.  That being said, this is an incredibly well made album.  The first track didn’t hook me, which is what I suppose an intro track is supposed to do, but the next one “All Alone” really got me into it and pretty much set the tone for the rest of the album: from there I figured this was going to be a somber affair.  And I was right, this wasn’t made for the clubs, it was hip hop with a message.

What’s also pretty cool is that you can just chillax to the rhythms too.  It just plain old sounds good.  Soooo if you need your fix of real hip hop, look no further.

Leave a Reply

